What You Should Know About The Ri Lead Law
The Rhode Island Lead Law requires landlords to protect tenants from exposure to lead. In a recent study, only 20 percent of properties in the state were in compliance with the law. To learn more about this law and what you can do, read on. This article will introduce the law and help you make sure you are following it. The Rhode Island Department of Health also has a comprehensive guide on the law and how you can follow it to ensure your family’s health.
The Rhode Island General Assembly passed the Lead and Copper Drinking Water Protection Act in 2002. It requires landlords to undergo training on lead-safe work practices and address concerns of residents. In addition, landlords must get their properties inspected by a certified lead inspector every two years and must prove their property is safe for children. While two- and three-family housing owners are exempt from the law, you should still follow the rules if you are renting a property in Rhode Island.
The RI Lead Law is a state law that was enacted in 2002. It requires landlords to attend training on lead-safe work practices and address residents’ concerns. The law also requires landlords to use lead-safe work practices during maintenance. Furthermore, landlords must have their properties inspected by a certified lead inspector every two years. This is to ensure that your property is safe for children. If you live in a property with lead-based paint, you should call the RI Lead Hotline 1-800-424-LEAD (800-424) for more information.
Although the lead law has become a federal law, it has been challenged in the past due to its low compliance rates. According to the Providence Plan, only 20 percent of properties in the state were in compliance with the lead law during its first five years. This is why several cities and counties have taken steps to make the laws more effective. In Providence, the new lead mitigation law created a separate division in the Housing Court for lead violations.
The lead law in Rhode Island was passed to protect residents from lead poisoning. The state’s inspectors must attend trainings on lead hazards and ensure that the homes are safe. Further, landlords must also comply with the law by using proper work practices during maintenance. The rule requires landlords to have their properties checked every two years to ensure that the property is safe for children. In addition to the requirements of the act, owners of two and three-family homes can opt out of it.
The Rhode Island Lead Hazard Mitigation Act requires landlords to attend trainings about lead-hazards in buildings. The law requires them to address concerns of residents about potential health effects of the lead. They must also use safe work practices during their maintenance activities. Finally, they must have their properties inspected by a qualified lead inspector every two years to prove that their homes are healthy for children. The act does not affect owners of single-family houses, but only those who live in rented housing.